Course History in Photos

The golf course was laid out by Harvey Lindsay of the Union Construction company in 1913. The back nine, as we play it today, was the original front nine. The lake hole, #16, was then #7. There was a row boat on the lake to use for fishing or whatever. The Oakland Open was played for one year at the Claremont and then at Sequoyah from 1938 through 1944. The course has changed in many ways in the intervening years. The original clubhouse was completed in 1915, and was rebuilt three years later and is the cornerstone of the present facility. The Course Record of 60 was established by Sequoyah assistant pro Don Whitt in 1955.

The first tee, circa 1940

Hole #1, originally Hole #10, circa 1916 Hole #1 today

Hole #3, originally #12, circa 1930 Hole #3 today

Hole #8, originally Hole #17, circa 1930 Hole #8 today

Hole #11, originally #3, circa 1930 Hole #11 today

Hole #16, originally #7, circa 1935 Hole #16 today

Hole #18, originally #9, circa 1916 Hole #18 today

USGA Girls Jr Amateur Qualifier

usga_logo

Sequoyah Country Club to Hos the USGA Girls Junior Amateur Qualifier June 30, 2015 Click to read & download full ...

The Best of 2012 Oakland

BestOf2012Oakland

Sequoyah Country Club featured in The Best of 2012 Oakland. Click here to read & download full ...

Chronicle Article June 2013

Picture_1

At 100, Sequoyah's roots spread to Merion The Chronicle Picturesque and historic, Sequoyah Country Club in the Oakland hills marks its centennial this year. By Al ...